Open Monuments 2017: date with the culture in Cagliari and surroundings

  • Published: 23-03-2017
  • Category: Events

open-monuments-cagliari-2017The story of the landscape is the main theme of Open Monuments 2017 that will take place in Sardinia during these weekend: 28-29 April and 27-28 May. Cagliari is the city that has many sites to visit,  related to the others. Then, pack the suitcases and book your ferry to Sardinia, the culture is waiting for you. We tell everything about this kermesse.


The event

It’s the most important date with the culture that hold in spring. Thousands of tourists, every year, go to the sardinian cities to increase the knowledge of the territory, the history and the tradition of these places. Hundreds of sites will are open to satisfy the cultural tastes of the passionate of art, archeology, architecture and history. In Cagliari, and in the other several cities of Sardinia, you will are able to discover the past.

If you are planning a vacation in Cagliari, in this period there are many things to do and many places to visit. It’s an unmissable opportunity to visit the cultural places, closed to public, with the support of the qualified tourist guides.


Its story

The Open Monuments is the kermesse which was born in 1997 thanks to the intuition and the passion for the culture of some associations. The noble intent is to rekindle the feeling of belonging to the community and even to strengthen the cultural identity, through the tradition. Since the initiative became a fixed date which every year make a great success of public.  Only in Cagliari, during the second edition, the cultural event moved in city about 70 thousands visitors.


The temporary calendar

Below we report the temporary calendar Open Monuments 2017, with the detail of cities participating in the initiative.

29 and 30 April 2017:

  • Portoscuso

6 and 7 May 2017:

  • Dolianova
  • Oristano
  • Sadali
  • San Gavino
  • Sanluri
  • Sassari
  • Villamassargia

13 and 14 May 2017:

  • Cagliari
  • Bosa
  • Osilo
  • Ozieri
  • Usini

20 and 21 May 2017:

  • Alghero
  • Cuglieri
  • Santadi
  • Selargius
  • Sestu
  • Tortolì-Arbatax
  • Villanovaforru

27 and 28 May 2017:

  • Arbus
  • Guspini
  • Marrubiu
  • Olbia
  • Porto Torres
  • Sant’Antioco
  • Serdiana
  • Uta
  • Villacidro
  • Villamar
  • Villasimius

For further information (dates and cities) you can consult the official website of the event:


Image source: Pixabay

Related articles